Automated Fixtures Automated Fixtures

Hello Control Booth community,
I am a high school student who has read the forum close to daily for about two years now. Reading posts on Control Booth is has taught me so much, so I would like to thank all of you for that.

The inventory at my school is a bit thin, but we are always trying to improve. In the past few years we were able to get two scrollers, one gobo rotator, and a power supply for these accessories. We almost were able to get two i-cues, but the school was ultimately not willing to pay for them. We have tried to use these accessories as much as possible and to their full potential. However with two scrollers and one rotator, there is only so much that we can do.

This past winter we were able to get the money for the rights to perform the musical Chicago. The nature of this show calls for quite a bit of flashy lighting, but with an inventory that just barely covers the stage with a decent wash it did not appear that we would be able to do much creatively with the lighting.

So we started looking into renting some moving lights for the performances. It was an option that was greatly considered, but our director was not sure that she could justify the cost. So we looked into buying some from China.

Yes, I am familiar with the Gafftaper method. Yes, I have read plenty of posts condemning the evils and the immorality of buying lights from China. Yes, I am aware that the general consensus of Control Booth is that buying lights like these is plain stealing because of a probable lack of R&D. I simply want to share my experience of Chinese movers.