Bagpipes

jb872033

Ok got a good one for you sound gurus out there...I have been doing sound for about 10 years but am coming up with a first...This april I will be doing a graduation and will need to mic. a bagpipe...not too sure the most effective way to do this...would like a SM-57 work...im not too worried about bleed...its more of a solo kind of thing, so just an omni close to the bagpipe or can someone recomend something? Thanks in advance.

JB

I know there's a joke in here someplace, something about an octopus? My suggestion would be a non-working Nady or Radio Shack wireless.

Seriously though, an AKG 414 would sound great, though if outdoors not so good with wind noise.

Re: Bag pipes

My first question would be why do the Bag pipes need miking? Is this for a recording of the graduation if so I would probably use a hanging mike. Have you had the person play the Bag pipes in your venue to test it out? Unless it is a very big venue I don't think volume will be a problem. In fact I can see miking being more of a problem because the signal will have to be so attenuated so it doesn't overload the chanell.

I found this link from a book called Professional Microphone Techniques and it talks about using a condenser mike anywhere from 2 to 8 feet away. They also mention a two mike technique but that might be over kill. How many pieces is the bagpiper playing? If only one or two and they are not in a static position all the time then will the microphone setup / breakdown be more distracting?

http://books.google.co.nz/books?id=...ig=wNaPFNERx9xzVfFlVm6eL1dKX2E&hl=en#PPA35,M1

I am sorry if I am teaching your Grandma to suck eggs but for the sake of more inexperienced members of the board I always tend to write a full explanation for learning purposes.

Also welcome to controlbooth. Please drop into the new members forum and tell us a bit more about yourself.

Re: Bag pipes