DMX Universes and addressing

Corbettlight

Alright, so I just got an Element - it came in a week!
All of my dimmers are MPX, and I have an NSI I/F 501 to convert between DMX and MPX. It works great. However, I also have some DMX devices. If I connect my conventionals to DMX 1 and my DMX devices to DMX 2, do I have to address the ones in the second universe differently? Or can I just use it like they are all in the same universe?

Ok, so I have limited experience patching into a 2nd universe, but what you need to do is to add 512 to whatever the address is. That gives you the absolute address. Thus, things plugged into Universe 2 will begin at 513. However, I believe that the patching section for devices *might* have a little box for universe in it. I know the Congo does, and I can not remember off the top of my head if the Ion does as well, but I feel like there is a way to do it. Just adding 512 to the address is easier in my opinion.

I though I might have to do something like that. The only question I had was this: My Element has 250 channels, but does it have 512 addresses for each universe? And when I'm telling my fixtures what their starting address is, what if they only go up to 512? Does the fixture see as number 1 what the console sees as number 513 (number 1 of the second universe)?

Let's say I want my MiNSpot to be addressed starting at 10 in the second universe; I can set it as address 522 in the console, and 10 on the light, and it should work, yes?

[Apparently Element represents a change from the configurable DMX ports of the Express(ion).]

Correct, Corbettlight! Your console supports 1024 outputs (2 universes of 512 each) which need to be patched into 250 channels.http://www.controlbooth.com/forums/members/corbettlight.html

From http://www.etcconnect.com/docs/docs_downloads/manuals/Element_v1.6_User_Manual_RevA.pdf, (page 14):
Element has two DMX ports. To output, connect one 5 pin XLR cable per port. The first port will