ETC LED Fixtures & SeaChanger on Element

taylors

I am a high school student and my school recently built a new performing arts center. All furbished with ETC products. No one has been properly trained and the first musical is coming up and I am the lighting desiginer. I learn everything on my own on the internet. I need help with ETC Selador Lustr Series & Vivid R series. I do understand that some of them are daisy chained and I understand that part. I am looking to create a new show and start from scratch. I understand that each led fixture has 8 channel componets. How do I patch these and do I have to patch each of the 8 channels separatly? I have no concept of the LED lights, the address, fixture addreess, and then patching these address and finally being able to contol them. Could some one please explain in beginners language of what this is and how to do this? Thanks.:neutral:

On a side not, I just found out we have 4 Ocean Optics SeaChangers (4channel). And I understand that these have mutipule address also. How do I patch those and controll those properally? Beginners language is great and any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks! :rolleyes:

re: ETC LED Fixtures & SeaChanger on Element

Oh one more question, when you patch them why is it 2/1, 2/9, 2/17. I understand the 1, 9, 17 part, but where does the two come from? Thanks so so so sos sos soooo much!@

On the back of the Element are two female 5pin XLR DMX512 outputs, probably labeled DMX1 and DMX2. Usually, DMX1 (Universe 1) controls dimmers, and DMX2 (Universe 2) controls other devices. (It doesn't have to be that way, and in fact both ports can be set up to both output the same.) Now the DMX dimmers and devices don't know and don't care what universe they're on, but obviously the console does. Thus you can have a dimmer addressed as 001 (to the console 1/1), and an LED as 001 (2/1), but they are on different universes.