Control/Dimming GrandMA2 Questions

barak181

I'm an ETC programmer. I grew up with ETC. I like to say that I speak ETC natively. Not surprising being that I come from a theatre background. But I work enough outside of theatre to know how predominant the GrandMA is outside of the theatre.

What I hear all the time is that the MA handles moving fixtures better. What I've never really had explained to me is *why* it's so much better than the Eos with moving lights. I've done shows on an Eos that are all moving heads and LED fixtures quickly and easily. (Granted, I wouldn't want to do it without external touchscreens.) Would an MA2 really make my life that much easier?

What really got me thinking is that I just booked a pretty big programming gig that was originally spec'd on a GrandMA2 and by my request is being changed to an Eos. Thinking ahead to the future, does my experience and comfort level with the Eos preclude any advantage a MA may give me on these type of gigs or should I really try to find the time to teach myself a new console that says things like "please" and "oops"?

It’s good the broaden you horizon for sure. It’s awesome that they swapped consoles for ya just don’t let them down.

I have found that outside our home everything in the wild is just that. One day it will be a jands next a hog and next an MA. It’s not so much the quality of the console for fixtures but how well you can manipulate them to do what you want with what you are given.

The best you can do is have the internet handy for those opps moments and just look back to a training video. Even listening to it will cue you fingers.

If people expect us to know every single console thru and thru a lot of people would be out of work.

GL with that gig.

It’s good the broaden you horizon for sure. It’s awesome that they swapped consoles for ya just don’t let them down.