I once turned the house lights on during a show.

lee624

Hello! I'm a tech member at my high school in NY! I'm light crew only and not audio though.
I'm not new to lights but I still have a lot to learn since I only really started working the light board about 5 months ago?
I joined CB after hearing about it from the musical director/music teacher at my school. He's a member of CB also.
So I hope that I can learn a lot here, especially about moving/automated lights since that's a big thing in our next show (HELP!)
So nice to meet you, this introduction was pretty long so sorry.

I'm curious whether this was a good or bad experience? At Intermission or end of show=good. During Hamlet's soliloquy=bad, most likely. Live theater--accidents happen. Apologize, learn from it, and move on.

Guilty. I was about 15, and running a Colortran Status (not the exact one, but the same model is pictured below - hated that board) for a community theatre production of a A Christmas Story. I was pretty new at running that console, and was more focused on getting the cue timed right than I was making sure my hands were in the right place. See, on the Colortran Status, to advance cues programmed in to the cue stack, you have to move both of the large crossfaders either up or down, and they have to go together. All my fade times had been pre-programmed, so my goal was to get those faders from one extreme to the other rather quickly.

So here we are, both faders at the "down" position (just like the photo) and I'm watching the stage and listening to the SM on headset. Unbeknownst to me, my fingers are actually on Crossfader A and Channel 48... Guess what was on channel 48? Yep, house lights. Oops... Very hard to "cheat" your way outta that mistake! Needless to say, that was not a positive experience :). The only other time I've brought the house lights up mid-show was for intermission, or one time when the fire alarm started sounding.

proxy.php