Mounting Scroller as Douser

Amishplumber

Hi All,

Searched around but couldn't find the answer I need.

I'm projection engineering a show that loads in next weekend and am just getting around to planning things out due to ludicrous overbooking. We have 3 projectors and are planning to douse them using scrollers. I've never used scrollers as dousers before and am drawing a blank on how to actually mount them in front of the projectors. I'm either going to be building custom mounts (i.e. shelves) for the projectors or using some mounts I already have, which consist of a 14" square shelf attached to a rather large yoke I pulled from an old beam projector that are then hung by C-clamp to a pipe. Projectors are all small, garden variety, 2-3k lumen units.

So any thoughts on attaching scrollers in front of projectors, either for my specific situation or in general?

On a somewhat related note the designer has it in her head to "shutter" the projected image for certain moments by taking a frame of dark blue gel and carefully cutting a square hole in the middle. I have my doubts about how well this will work considering how precise and tiny that hole will have to be along with the projected image not being in focus that close to the lens, meaning the edges will not be sharp. Anyone heard of this method before and have experience with it?

Thanks very much!

The scroller thing does work... and yes you have to get a bit creative with the mount. Last time I saw this done the scroller was mounted on the tray that held the projector. A few things to keep in mind with this though... First, you need to make sure frame one is actually clear. Many older scrollers are very worn on frame one creating a kind of frost. Second, use black wrap rolled into the scroll to do the "blackout". I know this sounds weird, but it properly packed it does work. There is also a manufacture that makes a scroll do to just this that gives you a nice "fade" to black as it rolls.

Last edited: