Need spandex roof for stage truss

scott407

I have Staging Concepts decking with some vertical truss pieces (see attached design) that I'm looking to do a roof with. I'm looking to get some kind of stretchable non-permeable fabric such as spandex to cover the stage. I'd use break-aways in case of wind. Does anyone know where I could get a cover like this?
mobile-stage-alternative.jpg

Last edited:
Rose Brand carries Trivera which is an IFR stretch fabric. They have other fabrics too that might be better suited. I doubt that any stretch fabric is going to be entirely non-permeable but I'm no fabric expert by any means.

My concern with non-permeable fabrics for outdoor applications is one typically wants a certain amount of permeability to manage the wind and water load. In the event of rain, there's also a good chance that a roof with this design will trap a lot of water, collapsing the towers and deluging the stage when it ultimately fails. In a high wind the fabric will act as a large sail and lift and topple everything.

Last edited:
It seems to me the FIRST AND ONLY person/company you should contact is the one that built the original stage/roof. Let them advise you on wind loads, the whole deal, and what type of fabrics are acceptable, and how to attach those fabrics.

To pile on: based on that picture, it's likely the tension of the fabric will topple the towers, even in absence of wind and water.

Each piece of truss will have ground supports under the stage (see attached image). Also each piece of truss will be ratchet strapped to the SC9600 Staging Concepts under structure. You don't think this will hold the spandex?
photo 5 (5) (Small).JPG

It seems to me the FIRST AND ONLY person/company you should contact is the one that built the original stage/roof. Let them advise you on wind loads, the whole deal, and what type of fabrics are acceptable, and how to attach those fabrics.

I agree with this.

Also, I would never use ratchet straps for rigging.