New here, Introducing myself/trying to get some useful knowledge

Twiztidmn

I'm not very good with introductions, so I'll try my best...

Obviously from the title I'm new here, and I'm hoping to get some direction/advice that will help me with my career goals. I stumbled upon this page while researching lighting fixtures that I would like to use in building my own rig. Names Chris, 27 years old, and I'm hoping to become a successful live concert lighting technician. A little background...

I love music, always have. After graduating from high school I spent 4 years in the Minneapolis area doing concert/cd release promo for Strange Music (Tech N9ne, etc.) I liked doing it, but eventually I ran out of time to do promo work while working full time. After about 2 years not doing anything music related, I started helping my roommates band. Mostly I helped with load in/load out, and ran merch a few times. After roughly 1.5 years, they went their separate ways and he joined a new band. I started helping them in the same way, and eventually it turned into running stage props/fog machines/strobes. At the time I had no problem with the roadie work, but I was really starting to like the idea of making the show look as good as I could. I've never been able to play an instrument, so this would be my way to make the show better. I've been to entirely too many shows that the light guy was terrible... it can easily influence my opinion of seeing a band for the first time (not sure how many other people think this way...) When the band went through a lineup change, I was asked if I wanted to run the stage lights for their last show at the time. Having absolutely no idea what I was doing, or how the house had their stuff setup, I think it actually went pretty **** good. I also realized that day that it was what I wanted to do for a living.