One valedictorian's view on education.

ruinexplorer

Sherpa
CB Mods
Premium Member
Fight Leukemia
New travelling the interwebs is this speech by Erica Goldson, a valedictorian at Coxsackie-Athens High School.

She definitely was inspired by John Taylor Gatto, as I have been as well (one reason I continue to home educate my kids). A few of the points she makes should resonate with us in our field. We get told how to do things, but you must understand why we do them. This (understanding) is what will keep you alive and give you the tools you need to truly become a successful technician and not just a box pusher.

Last edited by a moderator:
I had a social studies teacher in 8th grade that decided that the public school system (along with government) was failing us and homeschools his kids after left this year.

I'm not going to touch the home school debate, but here it goes... I graduated from a public HS and a private university. I spent 1 year teaching in a performing arts magnet school in Georgia and was a certified teacher.

Anymore, there is really no reason to teach dates/facts/whatever. We need to teach writing skills and research skills. We also need to teach math and what it takes to become a good citizen (consumers ed, civics, global studies). Facts are meaningless. I can find out everything I need to about Henry Cabot Lodge through a 10 second search on my phone. What we have to teach is how to dig through all the information we have to get the best/right answers.