Conventional Fixtures Photometric Charts

jmac

Being a relative novice, I don't have enough experience to necessarily know off the top of my head what fixture to use for a certain throw distance.

I have found several beam calculators and the like on-line, but was looking for a handy chart comparing beam diameters and footcandles for different fixture beam angles, for various throws, all on one page. I didn't find what I was looking for (though I'm sure it's likely there somewhere..), so decided to make up a little spread sheet. The sample pdf file attached is for the ETC Source Four family, 575W, 90 thru 19 degrees.

The numbers at top give basic photometrics from the respective ETC cut sheets, and are used to calculate the diameters and FC's below. I think the numbers are fairly accurate, but I have not thoroughly checked yet.

The portions of each column shaded in yellow is what I thought might be a typical "useful range", and for this chart, is generally no less than 125 FC, and no more than 400FC, with beam diameter typically 9-15 feet. The numbers carry on a bit above and below this range. This could be adjusted/extended as deemed appropriate. Again, I am no expert.

I have worked up similar sheets for ETC S4-750W (90-19 degree), S4-Par 575W & 750W (all lenses), S4-ParNel (575W & 750W, Spot & Flood); Par-64 (500W & 1000W, WFL, MFL, NSP); Altman 360Q (500W & 750W, 4.5x6.5 thru 6x16), and Altman 6" fresnels (KAF-1000W, 65Q-500W & 750W, Spot & Flood). These being fixtures I have been using or think I may run into at some point...

Thought I would post here for comments, and to see if these might be useful to any fellow CB'ers. If so, I will try to post the spread sheet (may need a little time to clean up..). Hopefully, the attachment works here, and is legible enough to read or at least get the general idea (text might be on the small size).. Welcome your comments. Thanks.

Attachments

• S4-575-Photo.pdf
    31 KB · Views: 533
Last edited: