PTZ Camera Tips for (rookie) church Video Operator

Hi all,

Not sure if this has posted before as I tried to search it but Search wasn't giving me much to go on. This is a thread related to the following question with the following situation currently and what is in development. I am very good and have an excellent ear for Audio, as I run the Behringer SX3282 for Sunday mornings doing Live Mix for the contemporary worship service as well as handle audio recording, but this is my first time being a camera Op, so its a new thing for me and I'd appreciate some tips, pointers, general know how, etc. So I'm now doing double duty, Audio/Camera.

My friend from MN who does AV for her mega church gave me some pointers such as basic centering, aiming, and I looked up some stuff about the "three by three" rule that I am trying to wrap my head around. So any tips or anything to help me hit the ground running, but safely.

This camera is also not live yet, for now it feeds to a playback monitor on the Sound Deck at my station at an angle from me so I can turn my eyes a little and view it without looking too much away from the audio desk, as I'm visually impaired, so I can view what's going on at the stage, pulpit, band, choir, front, etc. and make proper adjustments or corrections. (This will be transitioned to a possibly Live Cam situation after we get some purchasing money for a Scaler/Switcher to flip between laptop/camera/dvd/bluray player and send all output to the projector up front instead of the dog and pony show we currently do (black out, change input, redo screen, go back to live projector screen, takes a bout a minute or so sometimes.)

(how will this be done also so I can still have output view on my monitor while it is active on the screen, is this done through the switcher as an aux output or something like a splitter cable or is this independent if reconnected to the scaler/switcher in the future) Thanks guys and sorry for such a long post

Last edited: