Pyrotechnics questions? Flaming broomstick/audience safety

Hi there, I'm the guy in charge of producing special effects for our spring musical of the Wizard of Oz. As you know there are a lot of pyrotechnics used in this show. We have a 630 seater black box theatre, the audience is on the same level as the performers, there is no 'end' to the stage so to speak as our seating area is moveable.

My first question is, how far away do the pyrotechnics need to be away from the crowd? (there will be pyrotechnics firing up at the front of the stage) Will they be safe to use in a black box type theatre, if at all! Will we need to mark out where not to stand when letting the audience in? Audience member can leave to go to the toilet throughout the show, which involves stepping into the performing area, potentially where the pyrotechnics would be. etc etc basic safety for the audience. I am new to pyrotechnics and I just need some basic knowledge before I talk with the director again.

Second question is, we have the wicked witch too, we had plans of having a broomstick that either shot things out of it, or had quick burst of sparks or fire (like in the west end show) How would I get the scenery makers to produce a flameproof prop, what would it be made of, how would it be fired? (wirelessly/by the witch?) I know it's a lot to ask, but I found this the best place to ask. I am new to this area, so basic language is appreciated. Thanks in advance

We are a professional performing arts high school, and do have large budgets for our shows.

If you have a large budget then the first and foremost thing to do is to hire somebody with the knowledge to do thus safely.

Other will chime in as well, but to start off if you do not know the proper danger zones of pyrotechnics that you plan to use you are obviously not trained and or licensed to so this kind of work. Pryo is a very specialized skill set that one must be trained in before one takes this on.