Automated Fixtures Suggestions for Intelligent Fixture for Community College Blackbox

Hello everyone,

I just registered but I've been reading on the board off and on for a few years.

My question is this, I'm a technician for a local Community College and we have an ETC Express 48/96. They are open to the idea of potentially getting a few budget intelligent fixtures so long as they will be able to work well in conjunction with our existing inventory (mainly consisting of ETC S4 Jr 575w). The main purpose we would love for these to serve is to be able to free up some of these conventional lights by them being able to be permanently mounted to our grid and serve as area lighting or potentially also for specials. Our dimensions of our play space is 60' W x 50' D x 20' H (to the bottom of the pipe grid), there is a grid above the audience where we hang our FOH lighting (which is roughly another 25-35' of depth. Does anyone has any recommendations for any fixtures that should be able to serve these purposes?

I've been looking at the Chauvet Intimidator Spot LED 450 but as I haven't worked with LED fixtures in a stage environment I'm not sure how well it would work.

Thank you for any help or advice that you guys can give in advance.

Nathan

Welcome.

What kind of budget is being considered? The 450 is quite limited in terms of color, beam spread and lacks motorized focus.

A new fixture that has entered the market called JACK has remote beam spread control via DMX from 1 degree to 46 degrees making a single fixture a Beam, Profile and Wash light. Offering 50,000 lux at 5 meters JACK has the punch needed to cut through your conventionals.

A couple of things to consider in making your choices. ( assuming you are talking about theatre / musicals here. Not rock and roll )