Using the NSI 2408CD dimmer pack with LED lights

Darren69

Howdy
I am a church tech and we use the NSI 2408CD dimmer packs. We recently changed light boards and we want to add some LED lights. The NSI manual that I have found online says:
Any of the channels of the 2408 CD can be configured as NON DIM channels. This will cause the output of the channel to go to full on whenever the input signal is over 10. When to input signal drops to less than 100C; the channel output goes to full off. This is the equivalent of a zero-crossing solid state relay.

Here's a link to the dimmer manual (see page 7):
http://www.allprosound.com/catalog/pdf/ownersman/Leviton NSI/2408CR.pdf

Now to my question.... I'm trying to figure out the best way to incorporate the LED lights into the new board. What makes our situation challenging is that there are no outlets anywhere near our light bars, so I had hoped to use the existing wiring and I'd like to force the dimmer pack to act more like a breaker than a dimmer pack.

One solution that I have come up with is to configure the 2408CD to work as NON DIM channels for a few of the channels, set the board to 100% for those channels and plug the LEDs to those dimmer channels. My biggest fear for this solution is that someone will hit the blackout button on the board and totally kill the LED lights.

I'm open to any suggestions, but I was hoping to avoid getting an electrician to rewire the sanctuary.
Thanks

The problem is that even at "100%" the pack puts out a chopped signal that can raise havoc with LED units. What you would need it a relay pack that uses actual mechanical relays. Some people do exactly what you are talking about and things work ok for them, but it is not recommended as the chopped noise at the front of the waveform can cause problems. Also, there is always the chance that a goof up on programming could switch the pack back into the dim mode which is highly caustic to electronics.