What equipment can I expect the house to have on a tour?

Hey,

I am new to touring and have a few questions about what kind of lighting gear to expect from the venues. I have not received venue contacts yet and I am choosing my rental gear now. The tour starts next week.

The venue are house of blues sized venues, some bigger/smaller.

What is the standard stuff they will have for me to work with?
-A dimmer?
-A board?
-Stage wash lights?
-Hazer?

Thanks,
James

Here is a thread which approaches this from the other side:
http://www.controlbooth.com/forums/stage-management-facility-operations/31351-reasonable-lead-time-riders.html
At this late date, If you have at least the names of the venues, Google may be your friend. See if they have a webpage or even facebook page. Some places do have a "technical specifications page". If nothing else there may be photos available of other acts which might give you a clue. Be prepared for this to be a major learning experience, it is very satisfying to go into a place with less than optimum equipment and still be able to do a great show. Remember to be nice, be flexible and be creative, the locals can be your new best friends.

You can expect as much as you can use to as little as can be provided to constitute a lighting system. You can expect the most current technology, and the most current technology from 1937, sometimes in the same house. The locals can range from the most experienced hands you will ever run into to people sourced from a temp agency. All of this is not defined by size of city or area of the country. Some of the best hands can be found in what would otherwise be considered a wasteland (in entertainment terms). Your best defense is to "be flexible". You will not run into anything easily defined as "standard". Expect power. The rest is gravy.

Dimmers - see Pete's reply that includes the 1930's. This is no joke. You may or may not be allowed access to dimmer configuration, so again, be flexible.