What to do with old lights?

jfremm

Hello all,

I am a Tech Manager for the auditorium at a public high school. Several years ago, we updated our cycs and got brand new source fours. The old pars, vacuum lights, and old ellipsoidals are just laying around and wasting space. It's gotten to the point where it gets crowded backstage. Anyways, I was wondering where I could dispose of these lights. If anyone has any input, it would be greatly appreciated!

Isn't there usually a surplus process for equipment from public schools?

Also, what are "vacuum lights"?

Isn't there usually a surplus process for equipment from public schools?

Also, what are "vacuum lights"?
Second the "vacuum lights" question.

Also second the "I'm sure administration has a process for disposing of old/obsolete/unwanted 'classroom equipment'."

Unsolicited advice: Before scrapping a fixture, save the c-clamp, connector, colorframe; one can never have enough of these things. Also possibly, lens, socket, and reflector. And consider keeping at least one of each type intact, as a teaching aid for historical purposes.
Assuming Admin tells you to "just throw them away" (get it IN WRITING!): If the fixtures were really old, and you were legally permitted, I'd say eBay. If they're at all functional, FreeCycle or Craig'sList to a poor local community theatre. As a last resort, scrap metal dealers will pay pennies on the pound. If you suspect the whips may contain asbestos, precautions need to be observed.

And before someone else references it, http://www.controlbooth.com/threads/old-theatre-lights-can-be-useful.6102/ .