Coemar ProSpot LX 250 Repair

dreamsfuture

Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Hello members, I am new here, and would like to ask for some advice.
I would like to learn to maintain and repair a few fixtures.
For now, I need to address at least 4 Coemar ProSpot LX 250.

2 fixtures don't power on. 1 fixture has a zoom issue when compared with others. 1 fixture does not reset to white/open, but is stuck on red.
Other fixtures are still working, but a few have base fans that don't start with error messages flashing.

Can anybody suggest what is the general approach to repair? Is there some repair manual or tutorials, besides parts available?

Also, is there a technician who is familiar with these fixtures who is available in NYC for a check up and some consultations?

Please let me know.
Thank you.
 

itie

Active Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
Location
georgia
i havent worked much with moving lights but a big problem i had with them was the cable. and make sure u terminate the line. that might fix you red problem. i have i thin dmx cable ran in the booth for the moving lights and it worked but one of them would twitch when i ran a thicker cable it stop so there was something interfering with the line. its worth a check.
 

millamber

Active Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Location
Atlanta
Check the main fuses on the 2 dead ones. Should be right beside the plug. For the stuck color, take off the head cover (without power) and see if you can spin the wheel by hand. It should spin fairly freely without power; if it doesn't move at all, or moves very jerky, the motor is dead.
 

Clebs

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Location
Vancouver
Hey!

I am having a problem with one of my Coemar ProSpot 250s. The unit has been functioning quite well until recently, when I tried to start it up. The light begins its startup sequence, but part way though the pan gets stuck and the light cannot move any further in the startup sequence. The display flashes "rese" as it would normally during the startup sequence, but is unable to go beyond this. The menu is not accessible in this state.

I am wondering if it might be an issue with the motherboard or with the pan motor? Perhaps something else? I have a number of "retired" Prospot 250s that I can use for parts, but I'm not sure where to start. There are no companies in my area that service Coemar products, so any advice you could share would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your help!
 

bishopthomas

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Location
New Jersey
I had this problem with a MAC250 once. I'm not familiar with the ProSpot so this may or may not help... There's a switch and sensor inside the unit that tells the software when the fixture has reached the extent of its travel. It's a very simple mechanism but if it is damaged or moves then it will never know that it needs to stop and continue to try to spin. Do you hear clicking as this happens? On the MAC250 it was literally just a piece of metal that stuck out and when a certain part of the fixture hit it it would trigger the switch telling it to stop. Mine just needed to be reseated and tightened down (just a screw) then it worked like a charm.

Open it up and see if you can figure out what I'm talking about. If not I'll open a MAC250 and refresh my memory since I know my explanation isn't perfect.
 

LavaASU

Active Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Location
Phoenix
Again based on mac 250s and other more common fixtures, I'd suggest setting that one up next to a working unit and pulling off the base/topbox covers (units off and unplugged) and comparing the pan motors, wiring, and sensors. I can think of a few other possibilities, but they are less likely and harder to test.

This won't help you terribly with pan as it works completely differently on a moving mirror than a moving head such as your prospots, but this Moving Lights » LAVA - Lighting Audio Video Arts video shows the basics of how a moving mirror fixture works. Video isn't live on our website yet as I'm still not happy with it, but this link should work. If anyone has any questions, comments, criticism of the video feel free to let me know.
 

Clebs

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Location
Vancouver
Thank you both for your replies. Next time I get in to work I'll open it up and see what I can find. Will let you know.
 

Kam

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2018
Location
Portland, Oregon
I have (2) units I am trying to bring back to life. I am not a moving light guy (yet) but am handy. I know I will need motors (since I destroyed the connector on one...you don't really need a plyer to yank it off). I am in the seek and learn (destroy) mode at the moment. Seeking parts, learning how could this possibly be or have ever worked or does it really take a hammer to make this work.

My first question, it seems that a lot of the optics motors are frozen up (shutter, prism rotator, focus). It this common or is it more likely the mechanical linkage the problem? I would rather not disassemble the whole thing to find out. Should a stepper motor shaft turn freely or feel a bit "grindy" (maybe like it has steps).

Inquiring minds want to know.......

Kam
 

Kam

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2018
Location
Portland, Oregon
I had this problem with a MAC250 once. I'm not familiar with the ProSpot so this may or may not help... There's a switch and sensor inside the unit that tells the software when the fixture has reached the extent of its travel. It's a very simple mechanism but if it is damaged or moves then it will never know that it needs to stop and continue to try to spin. Do you hear clicking as this happens? On the MAC250 it was literally just a piece of metal that stuck out and when a certain part of the fixture hit it it would trigger the switch telling it to stop. Mine just needed to be reseated and tightened down (just a screw) then it worked like a charm.

Open it up and see if you can figure out what I'm talking about. If not I'll open a MAC250 and refresh my memory since I know my explanation isn't perfect.

I have the same problem. The unit starts it's reset process and gets stuck during the pan test, stays in place clicking, and never progresses. If you find the answer please share.

Kam

I have the same problem. The unit starts it's reset process and gets stuck during the pan test, stays in place clicking, and never progresses. If you find the answer please share.

Kam

Where do you buy Coemar motors?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

JD

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2005
Location
North Wales PA
Stepper motor will not spin freely. When powered up, it should be hard to turn as a winding is kept DC to lock the motor when at it's position.
 
  • Like
Reactions: RonHebbard

Les

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2004
Location
DFW, Tx.
Should a stepper motor shaft turn freely or feel a bit "grindy" (maybe like it has steps).

Inquiring minds want to know.......

Kam
In general, that is normal. An unpowered stepper motor will have a sort of "texture" to it, like it has steps. How pronounced (fine/coarse) these steps are will depend on the individual motor and what its resolution is. This 'feel' should however be uniform. If you feel any anomalies along the rotation, that is not a good thing.
If the motor is powered on will try to fight you if you spin the output shaft (if working correctly).
 

Kam

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2018
Location
Portland, Oregon
In general, that is normal. An unpowered stepper motor will have a sort of "texture" to it, like it has steps. How pronounced (fine/coarse) these steps are will depend on the individual motor and what its resolution is. This 'feel' should however be uniform. If you feel any anomalies along the rotation, that is not a good thing.
If the motor is powered on will try to fight you if you spin the output shaft (if working correctly).
Les, You are on the NFPA Panel 160? Did you happen to know my good friend Ken Vannice?

I guess if the motor does not turn at all when unpowered it needs to be replaced. I am just surprised that so many of the motors in these units seem bad. I see them at Gearsource.com being sold of groups of 3, 5, & 7. I assume this is because they tend to be the component that fails most often. There are (10) motors in the units I have and they all look pretty similar.
 

Les

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2004
Location
DFW, Tx.
Les, You are on the NFPA Panel 160? Did you happen to know my good friend Ken Vannice?
I am not, but I'll ask my boss if he knows Ken. He's big in to networking and goes to a lot of the conventions. I'm always stuck at the shop :/.

I guess if the motor does not turn at all when unpowered it needs to be replaced. I am just surprised that so many of the motors in these units seem bad. I see them at Gearsource.com being sold of groups of 3, 5, & 7. I assume this is because they tend to be the component that fails most often. There are (10) motors in the units I have and they all look pretty similar.
I recommend calling Lightparts in Austin Tx before ordering any motors. Just to be sure. A non-spinny stepper motor doesn't sound right, but it's a little strange to have a large amount of dead ones in a single fixture.
 
  • Like
Reactions: RonHebbard

Kam

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2018
Location
Portland, Oregon
I am not, but I'll ask my boss if he knows Ken. He's big in to networking and goes to a lot of the conventions. I'm always stuck at the shop :/.



I recommend calling Lightparts in Austin Tx before ordering any motors. Just to be sure. A non-spinny stepper motor doesn't sound right, but it's a little strange to have a large amount of dead ones in a single fixture.

Thanks Les...
 

Kam

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2018
Location
Portland, Oregon
Hey!

I am having a problem with one of my Coemar ProSpot 250s. The unit has been functioning quite well until recently, when I tried to start it up. The light begins its startup sequence, but part way though the pan gets stuck and the light cannot move any further in the startup sequence. The display flashes "rese" as it would normally during the startup sequence, but is unable to go beyond this. The menu is not accessible in this state.

I am wondering if it might be an issue with the motherboard or with the pan motor? Perhaps something else? I have a number of "retired" Prospot 250s that I can use for parts, but I'm not sure where to start. There are no companies in my area that service Coemar products, so any advice you could share would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your help!
Got the same problem. How did you fix it?
 

Gabe H

Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2020
Location
United States
Hello there:

I have a coemar prowash lx which has a problem with a processing chip (EL-600290). The chip still controls the fans and pan/tilt, but no longer operates the Cyan, Magenta, Yellow, and Iris. This is the same piece that is in the Coemar ProSpot LX. I have looked all over trying to find this but I have had no luck. I was wondering if anyone had a place where I could find this piece so I can get the light back up and running.