Concert Lighting in a Proscenium Theatre

Hunter.tech

I'm the lighting designer for a high school "talent show" that is basically just one band on stage and the singers change for each set. There is little to no budget but the school does have a decent stock of Source 4 pars and Ellipsoidals as well as a couple LED Pars. I'm an ammature theatriacal lighting designer so I have an idea about basic concepts and choosing color, etc. But I have no experience with band or concert lighting.

I would like to know of any "tips or tricks" when it comes to creating a plot and/or programming a console for band or concert lighting on stage. Most of the videos I've been able to find have dealt with small performance spaces where a couple LED lights would do the trick. This is not the case for me as the theatre I'm working in is quite large. The Plaster line is about 45' across, The proscenium is about 20' tall, and the center line is about 30' deep.

If you have any suggestions about how to create some really cool looks, how to program them, or any links to helpful videos or articles, I would greatly appreciate it! Thanks in advance for your help!

I'm the lighting designer for a high school "talent show" that is basically just one band on stage and the singers change for each set. There is little to no budget but the school does have a decent stock of Source 4 pars and Ellipsoidals as well as a couple LED Pars. I'm an amateur theatrical lighting designer so I have an idea about basic concepts and choosing color, etc. But I have no experience with band or concert lighting.