Help for a newbie??

Hello,

I work in a School, and have recently been given the task of looking after the Lighting in our main hall/performance space. The stage is a fairly large size (approx 10m x 7m), and I have a small number of fixtures available to me. What I would like to achieve would be to be able to have a nice Wash of light with 4 zones. It would also be nice to try and have some colour washes. We also have a 4k projector which we use to project onto the rear wall of the stage.

The fixtures I have available to me are:
  • 4 x Source 4 Profiles
  • 4 x Prelude profiles
  • 6 x par 64
  • 4 x coda floods
  • 10 x Strand Fresnels (4 with barn doors, 4 with gel holders)
  • Cyc bar
I have done a lot of reading and research into the basics of stage lighting, and have a better understanding now, than when I first started. My ideas would be as follows:
  • 4 x Source 4 profiles in a FOH position, all on the same side, to cover 4 areas of the stage.
  • 2 x Fresnels FOH on the opposite side to provide some fill light.
  • 2 x Fresnels at the back of the stage to provide a backlight.
That is as far as I got really, and then started to thinkg about using the other fixtures to try and create some colour washes.
Does anyone have any other ideas of what they would do with the available fixtures?
Thanks

Mathew,

Need a bit more info first.

-layout of theater ie thrust, half thrust, procenum, black box ect...

- lighting positions. You mentioned FOH and over thr stagr, but what are these? In the house is it box booms, coves, balcony rail? Over the stage are they electric(s) or is it dead hung?

- the lenses in your S4 and other "profiles" . What lamp do you have in the par cans. What is the cyc light.

Sent from Taptalk for Android, this was.