Is buying used moving light fixtures worth it?

ececec

I'm looking into buying some moving light fixtures for in-house stock. I only have a 6K budget and I don't think it would be wise to throw that into a single fixture.
usedlighting.com, amongst other sellers, sell used fixtures for hundreds that would have cost thousands brand new. Many of these units are described as being in "very good" condition, but what does this mean in practice? Is it realistic to expect that I can get at least 5 years of use out of these second-hand fixtures with minimal maintenance and the occasional in-house repair? I'm new to the used kit market and moving lights in general, so any advice or experiences would be helpful. Thanks.

I would do some research on the lamps the fixtures use - some older style lamps are getting harder to source at a reasonable cost. I would also stick with name brands and avoid any generic fixtures - you will be hard press to find parts for a cheap Chinese knockoff fixture. Depending on how old you are talking, I know older Martin fixtures (pre MAC2K) used to have issues with their wiring harnesses failing in their yokes - a very labor intensive repair - often the reason they were put to pasture.
Just some quick thoughts off the top of my head...

It depends on three factors:
1. the fixture itself and its propensity (or lack thereof) to fail
2. how well the fixtures have been previously maintained
3. your ability to continue maintenance or have them maintained by a shop