Automated Fixtures Martin Mac 250+ DJ use or not a good idea?

JCmolina

Hello,

I am a high school student who has worked in the theater since i can remember.
I am currently in the process of purchasing two Martin Mac 250+s for use when i work on lighting shows and more importantly for when i throw house parties (big)!

I usually use sound activated fixtures to avoid having to program for songs but now i want these lights and i know they dont have a sound sensor so I was wondering if there was a DMX controller out there that could be hooked up to a computer(or not) that has sound detection.

If i cant i think the MArtin mac 250+ would be a waist of time and money?

Take a look at the elation line. They offer simular fixtures at a lower price and many of the lower end stuff does have sound activation. Sound activation is kind of the kiss of death for anyone that wants to buy a pro level moving light...

One doesn't find sound-to-light capability in higher-level gear as that feature is not wanted or expected by higher-end users. Most designers/technicians (other than DJs, (and I'm trying NOT to disparage DJs)) feel it is their job to decide what the light should do, not the light's internal microphone.

See also these threads:
http://www.controlbooth.com/forums/lighting-electrics/23125-sound-light-question.html
http://www.controlbooth.com/forums/lighting-electrics/20229-sound-reactive-lights.html

The Martin MAC250+ is a great little fixture, but may not be right for your application.

And welcome to ControlBooth.