Old Gear??

TechGeek

Stop! Don't throw out that old gear! I am a high school student trying to get his own gear. Let me know what you have and the asking price.

Whether it's sound, lights, drapes, truss, I'll be happy to take it!

Thank You!

ebay can be another good source for used gear, there is also lots of cheap chinese LED stuff on ebay too. It's not the greatest quality, but can be plenty bright and get the job done. You have to think of them as being disposable though, once they break odds are you aren't going to be able to get parts to fix them.

www.soundbroker.com - don't let the name fool you as they have quite a bit of lighting gear and will often deal
www.gearsource.com - another brokered site depending upon what you are looking for

Also you may want to check with your state surplus property office. Here in Kentucky they hold auctions several times a year and often times old theatrical gear goes cheap but isn't often sold.

Also, be wary of used drape. You'll want to be certain to take fire certs into account.

Keep an eye on eBay. I get absolutely killer gear deals by knowing what I'm looking for and looking at the right time. Variety in keywords is key as the cheap listings often don't know what they're listing so they don't know how to list it properly for people to find it.

Keep an eye on eBay. I get absolutely killer gear deals by knowing what I'm looking for and looking at the right time. Variety in keywords is key as the cheap listings often don't know what they're listing so they don't know how to list it properly for people to find it.
I've been keeping an eye out on ebay, but just some of the people over price the gear. They think that because they kept it in good condition that they can sell it at the same cost to buy it new, especially when the product is like 40+ years old, I know lekos and pars can take good beatings but sometimes for the prices they ask I'm better off buying new.