Refurbishing stage floor

JohnSB

I've searched the forums on this and have gained some good info, but there's still some questions I have that I couldn't find an answer to. I'm a High School Tech director, and the stage of auditorium is in sorry shape. It was sanded and painted two years ago, (not the best job, looks like they were trying to scrape barnicles off of a battleship) but now it's splintering and heavy set pieces leave marks from the castor wheels. From what I can tell, the floor is tounge and groove wood over sleepers. The wood is some kind of soft wood like pine, but crappier. Heck, it might be made of Cottonwood the way it's falling apart.
I've seen mention of using Masonite or MDF, and I'm wondering if a 1/4" layer over the top will help. I'm assuming it would need to be lap edged or tongue and groove. How would that be attached to the flooring? What type paint would you recommend? The front of the stage is maple, so it would probably have to be covered by some type of flooring too. (they did a horrible job of sanding this part too) Any suggestions on how to proceed?

Thanks, JohnSB

You can cover the stage in masonite, I wouldn't do mdf though with it doesn't like any moisture at all. Any black paint will be fine, no matter what you do you'll be painting the floor on a regular basis. Another option is going with a 1/4" thick black plastic, uhmw or one of the other options. It will last for years and years without needing replacement or paint, but it's more expensive up front.

I'm going to second the maso floor, although don't lay it right next to each other, place nickels for spacing, on edge, then gaff the edges or Marley tape, the idea is to allow expansion and compression of the floor otherwise you'll get ridges after your first heavy set piece moves over a humid stage. then paint about once a year fully do not spot. Just like walls the floor will show the spots forever.