Conventional Fixtures what to do with some old fresnels?

Mr Ship, are you saying that scraping asbestos off of the inside is beyond my skill level. Or that I don't posses the skills to remove asbestos tales and rewire the fixture. I wish that you would please elaborate.

For the record there isn't any asbestos insulation in the interior other than what was on the wires, I checked. In the 8" fresnels the interior was actual a more modern looking high temp wire that was some how attached to the asbestos leads and and the joint was then covered in heat shrink.

For the record there isn't any asbestos insulation in the interior other than what was on the wires, I checked. In the 8" fresnels the interior was actual a more modern looking high temp wire that was some how attached to the asbestos leads and and the joint was then covered in heat shrink.[/QUOTE]

Don't call me "MR." Not my dad and I work for a living (it's a military and age thing.) No offense taken though.

Do you posess the skill level to do so - yes. Can you do it as a student - No. Sorry but kind of like working on a Union jobsite... some things you can be doing and some things you absolutely should not be doing.

Once graduated and out of school and as a private contractor you can negotiate doing what you want. Did so once like almost 20 years ago with an old school's asbestos fixtures - the ones were the asbestos whips had warn away so much they had conductors exposed. Once I ran out of heat wire, I found a box spool full of brand new asbestos heat wire laying about back stage... thus I proceeed to finish re-wiring the rest of the fixtures with asbestos. (I had no idea back than and was probaly using vinyl coated normal temperatur ring terminals back than. This much less don't think I even looked at the bases.) Grounded them, drilled out one of the holes for a single 1/2" romex cable clamp and all was good.