Artist or Technician?

NevilleLighting

Like me, you apparently read these forums. Most of the posts here are technical in nature. Some are artistic. Some of the posts that I see are from young lighting designers struggling with artistic issues but framing their questions in a technical way.

Myself I am a designer. I do not disparage in any way electricians that prefer to be electricians. Quite the opposite. I rely on their expertise. I can barely spell DMX much less understand the intricacies. I come up with ideas and the crew improves upon those ideas and I love that interaction. Theatre is a collaborative art and I don't just mean the artistic meetings that happen in the director's office or production office. It is collaborative all the way down to cable placement.

I know that many of you have to occupy both positions simultaneously. When I wear the design hat I do too. I have to design with the parameters put in front of me with time and budget being high on that list. Crew capability comes way further down the list because if we don't know it we can work to figure it out.

Anyway, one of the things I see slipping these days is designing from the idea down and not from the nuts and bolts up. Would you ever tell a set designer that he has 350 screws and he should design his set for that? However, we in lighting land seem to take that approach in lighting all the time.

Ii would love a no-holds-barred but civil conversation about this. I'd love to hear from you (like me) old-timers. I'd love to hear from you college M.E.'s that have to play both sides of that line.

Light is art. What say you?

I'm one of those bolts up guys when it comes to design work.