Design Lighting a few sequences for Oklahoma....

I'm a drama tech at a school and we are doing a production of Oklahoma! I have to light a few scenes and I was just after some suggestions on how people would go about lighting them....

Even if you only have a suggestion for one of them, it would be much appreciated!

1. A dream sequence, with what the director has described as 'dreamy lighting.'

2. A sunrise to open the play (bare in mind we have no intelligent lights!)

3. A dingy little cabin, the director has asked for 'eerie' lighting

Thanks a lot for any replies!

I'm a drama tech at a school and we are doing a production of Oklahoma! I have to light a few scenes and I was just after some suggestions on how people would go about lighting them....

Even if you only have a suggestion for one of them, it would be much appreciated!

1. A dream sequence, with what the director has described as 'dreamy lighting.'

2. A sunrise to open the play (bare in mind we have no intelligent lights!)

3. A dingy little cabin, the director has asked for 'eerie' lighting

Thanks a lot for any replies!

I remember doing Oklahoma about five years ago at our local high school; it's a fun show..a little sappy..but fun and well known. I'm running on little sleep as we're gearing up for our run of Les Mis this week, so I apologize in advance.

1. Sunrise - simply utilizing one or two fixtures on a boom off-stage (either left or right, depending on where you'd plan your sun to "rise" from. I'd utilize a slightly more saturated orange/amber/light red. If you run pipe ends or high sides, maybe try throwing in a less saturated yellow or light orange to provide a bit of top/side light. Depending on what you have for cyc fixtures, utilizing a few Altman scoops or a single-cell ground cyc unit could allow you to add a yellow/light orange sun to the lower cyc to further perpetuate the idea of a sun.