Good Canon lens for theater photography?

gabe

Hello, sorry if this is in the incorrect section but I couldn't think of a better one. I've been considering purchasing a Canon EOS Digital Rebel T1i, as recommended by a friend, I was planning on buying only the body. What would be a good lens to take production stills, I am a lighting designer so I would want to be sure that my design was accurately captured.

Thanks!

Hello, sorry if this is in the incorrect section but I couldn't think of a better one. I've been considering purchasing a Canon EOS Digital Rebel T1i, as recommended by a friend, I was planning on buying only the body. What would be a good lens to take production stills, I am a lighting designer so I would want to be sure that my design was accurately captured.

Thanks!

Are you going to be trying to shoot during a run through or performance? What is your budget? Do you have a Tripod? (a good tripod is almost more important than a good lens and can be relatively expensive) Do you own any lenses now? And what else will you use the camera for? All of these things would affect what I would recommend. Also, accurately capturing your design is not going to be a function of the lens, but knowing how to use your camera to capture the image. Having a good lens may make it easier, but even with not the best lenses, you can get a good representation of what is on stage, you just need to know some of the fundamentals of your camera, photography in general, and how to shoot for theatre.