Small Touring Sound Set-Up

Spectre7

I am trying to put together a small set of equipment that will allow the company I am employed by to have a mobile and efficient sound set up for small bands and live sound productions. I have the sole decision in what is purchased, and this is what I had in mind. I am posting to receive input on the arrangement and equipment. Everything is up for discussion. If you think it sucks and all should be redone, say so, but also why. Though I have several years of experience in the field, I want additional input before spending the money.

Consoles
FOH - Mackie VLZ 24-4 Pro
Monitor - Mackie VLZ 24-4 Pro

Microphones
Shure SM58 (6)
Sure BETA57a (4)
Audio Technica Wireless Handhelds (4)

Processing, Effects, EQ
RANE ME-60 EQ (2)
dbx Advanced Feedback Suppressor
dbx 1074 Compressor (2)
Alesis MidiVerb Multi Effects Processor

Heads/Amplification
QSC RMX1450 (2)
QSC RMX2450 (2)

Speaker Cabinets
Yamaha S115V Full Range (6)
Yamaha S12 Monitor Wedges (4)
QSC K12 Powered (2)

Snake Line
Horizon Venue Professional
or
RamTech

CD Deck
Tascam CD-450

Power Conditioning
ETA

A good splitter snake could easily cost as much as your consoles and PA put together. Also, cases are going to be a must and could possibly double your budget. Mackie's don't really take to the road to well, they will need all they help they can get.

Just to throw it out there... this stuff is going to be pretty budget gear. It will work great for a traditional bar band rig. If you can afford to have a monitor engineer, I think you might want to think about investing in some better gear. That mackie console is not a monitor desk. Without a stack of graphs or a drive rack you are going to be fighting wedges with that console... it simply does not have the EQ's to do what you need to do and what bands expect.