Going LED, need your help.

KBToys82

First off, I'm not a lighting expert in any fashion, what I know, I'm mostly self taught. Anyway...

My district is going to renovate the auditorium, and they want to start converting our lights to LED. We would do this in phases, with the main phase happening this summer. We have 10 Source Four Lekos's that are in our balcony which is directly in front of our control room. Even amount of 50 degrees and 26 degrees. (I'm not sure if they also want to update our 6 that are in a cove above the seats.)

The district was originally going to go through a company to do everything, however they figure they can save a lot of money, price everything on their own (really myself with your help) and install it themselves.

From what I gather, the company they originally brought in was going to take our Source 4's and retrofit the base to LED. Currently, all of the fixtures in the balcony are powered by stage pin cables coming from a mess of wires hanging out of the control room window. The 6 in the cove are by twist lock.

What I want to do is try and give two options, one being retrofitting all 10 Source 4 fixtures to go to LED, and the other is buying 10 brand new LED fixtures. Money is not unlimited, but the business administrator did suggest just replacing every fixture, but I wouldn't go crazy with money.

From what I gather, if I get brand new fixtures, the ETC ColorSource Spot LED Ellipsoidal - that will require a DMX splitter, PowerCON cables (and giving power to them as well, which I have no idea) and DMX cables. For the retrofitting, I think we could still use our stage-pin connectors and wouldn't require any DMX cables or powerCON cables. We have a very qualified electrician in our district who has done some work with our fixtures, so I'm not concerned with installation, but I would need to know what to order.